National Championship News

Marshall and Sakellaris Win LaserPerformance College Sailing Men’s and Women’s Singlehanded National Championships

HOLLAND, MICH. (November 4, 2018) – The LaserPerformance Men’s and Women’s Singlehanded National Championships, hosted by Grand Valley State University and Hope College at the Macatawa Bay Yacht Club and Macatawa Bay Junior Association in Holland, Michigan wrapped up today with Henry Marshall (Auburndale, Mass.), a freshman at Harvard University winning the Men’s Championship and Christina Sakellaris (Milton, Mass.), a sophomore at Stanford University wining the Women’s Championship.
The championships included the top 18 men and top 18 women singlehanded sailors in the nation. LaserPerformance provided full rig Lasers and Laser Radials for the events and Marlow Ropes provided mainsheets. The competitors sailed out of Macatawa Bay Junior Association on both Lake Michigan and Lake Macatawa.

The conditions for the first day of racing, on Saturday, were about 6 to 8 knots of wind from the East Northeast in the morning, off shore winds and lumpy waters with temperatures in the 40s. The wind switched to a West Northwest direction and picked up to about 8 to 14 knots with big swells on Lake Michigan. Eight races were completed for the men and women on windward leeward courses with four legs.
Today was another cool day in the 40s. The winds were steady from the South East with puffs and ranging from 10 to 20 knots. Courses were all windward leeward with four legs this time sailing on Lake Macatawa. The competitors completed six races today finishing up the event with 14 races total around 2 p.m.
Marshall is the winner of the Glen S. Foster Trophy, awarded to the first place finisher. This is his first collegiate national championship and it’s the first time in 15 years that Harvard has won the Men’s Singlehanded Nationals.

“It was a great weekend of hard fought sailing,” says Marshall, “We saw a little bit of everything on the water. I'm happy to be heading home with a title and I'm super grateful to everyone who helped me, especially for the support of my teammates and, above all, my family.”
Marshall led the event all weekend and finished with 40 points, 31 points ahead of second place.
Leo Boucher, from St. Mary’s College of Maryland placed second and received the George Griswold Trophy. This is the first time that St. Mary’s has placed in the top two at this event. He finished with 71 points only two points ahead of Thomas McCann in third place, from Georgetown University.

Sakellaris is the winner of the Janet Lutz Trophy, awarded to the first place finisher. She finished the regatta with 60 points only one point ahead of second place.
“I am very proud and excited for Christina and our whole team,” says John Vandemoer, head coach for Stanford. “Christina knew the conditions were going to be all over the map with two race courses and an extreme forecast. She executed a game plan of keeping herself in every race knowing the consistent conservative sailing would win the event,” says Vandemoer.
Charlotte Rose from Jacksonville University finished in second place with 61 points. And Sophia Reineke, from Boston College, who won this event last year, finished in third place with 69 points.

To learn more about the event, the competitors and find results visit the event website:
Men’s, Final Results (14 races):
1. Henry Marshall ’22, Harvard University, 40
2. Leo Boucher ’22, St. Mary’s College of Maryland, 71
3. Thomas McCann ’22, Georgetown University, 73
4. Nicholas Baird ’19, Yale University, 75
5. Patrick Shanahan ’19, Brown University, 84
6. Scott Rasmussen ’20, Boston College, 88
7. Gerald Williams ’19, College of Charleston, 92
8. Carson Pearce ’21, U.S. Merchant Marine Academy Kings Point, 131
9. Charles Carraway ’22, Hobart and William Smith Colleges, 137
10. Upamanyu Dutta '20, University of Southern California, 141
11. Malcolm Benn Smith ’21, College of Charleston, 144
12. Jack Gower ’20, Jacksonville University, 156
13. Vir Menon ’20, Christopher Newport University, 165
14. John Hanna ’19, Texas A&M University at Galveston, 166
15. John Kirkpatrick ’22, Stanford University, 184
16. Michael Levy ’19, Oregon State University, 186
17. Korbin Kierstead '19, University of Wisconsin, 215
18. Bobby Sessions ’20, Marquette University, 242
Women’s, Final Results (14 races):
1. Christina Sakellaris ’21, Stanford University, 60
2. Charlotte Rose ’22, Jacksonville University, 61
3. Sophia Reineke ’21, Boston College, 69
4. Hannah Steadman ’20, Brown University, 79
5. Carly Broussard ’21, Georgetown University, 83
6. Lenox Butcher ’20, University of Pennsylvania, 95
7. Isabella Loosbrock ’19, Boston College, 99
8. Kelly-Ann Arrindell ’20, College of Charleston, 103
9. Riley Legault ’19, George Washington University, 115
10. Jessica McJones ’20, U.S. Naval Academy, 126
11. Louisa Nordstrom ’20, Yale University, 128
12. Sophia Sole ’21, Stanford University, 137
13. Abbie Carlson ’22, Tufts University, 148
14. Ciara Rodriguez-Horan ’22, Tulane University, 184
15. AnaLucia Clarkson ’22, Connecticut College, 199
16. Cailin Considine ’19. University of Wisconsin, 234
17. Rachel Rantanen ’19, Michigan State, 235
18. Gabrielle Savage ’18, British Columbia, 245
Photo Credit: Tyler Colvin
Contact: Jennifer Mitchell |Toile à Voile for ICSA | | 970-216-7072 m.

The ICSA sponsors and partners through the 2018-2019 season are: LaserPerformance (, title sponsor of “LaserPerformance Men’s and Women’s Singlehanded National Championship”, title sponsor of “LaserPerformance College Sailing Team Race National Championship” and Official Boat Supplier of the ICSA Spring National Championships. Sperry (, title sponsor of the “Sperry College Sailing Women’s National Championship”. Gill North American (, title sponsor of “The Gill College Sailing National Championship”. Quantum Sail Design Group (, official sponsor of the “Quantum Women’s College Sailor of the Year”. Marlow Ropes (, presenting sponsor of the “Marlow Ropes College Sailor of the Year Award” and “Official Rope of College Sailing”. US Sailing (, “The Robert H. Hobbs Sportsman of the Year Sponsored by US Sailing”.